top of page


Updated: Mar 9, 2022

In ABA therapy there are many positions in this industry where people with different designations have different tasks to accomplish. Between these three classes RBT, BCBA, and BCABA many people wonder what is the difference between them. Well here they are:

Board Certified Behavior Analyst (BCBA)

  • Is a graduate-level certification in behavior analysis.

  • Professionals certified at the BCBA level are independent practitioners who provide behavior-analytic services.

  • Creates, maintains, and updates all programs for the child.

  • Will evaluate the child and write a report of findings.

  • Will create programs, or interventions to implement with the child based on that evaluation.

  • In the future, if the program or intervention needs to be modified, the BCBA will have the final say and change it in the child’s intervention plan.

  • The BCBA will provide supervision for those directly working with the child such as BCaBAs and RBTs.

  • Qualifications

    • ABAI Accredited Degree

    • Behavior-Analytic Coursework

    • Faculty Teaching & Research

    • Postdoctoral Experience

    • Take & Pass BCBA Exam

    • Meet Continuing Education Requirements

    • Adhere to Ethics Requirments

    • Recertify every two years

Board Certified Assistant Behavior Analyst (BCaBA)

  • The BCABA, or assistant, works under the supervision of a Board-certified analyst (BCBA).

  • Is an undergraduate-level certification in behavior analysis.

  • Any changes to the child’s program or intervention will still need final approval from a BCBA.

  • Qualifications

    • ABAI - Credited Degree

    • Behavioral - Analytics Coursework

    • Take & Pass BCaBA Exam

    • Meet Continuing Education Requirments

    • Receive Ongoing supervision

    • Adhere to Ethics Requirements

    • Recertify every two years

Registered Behavior Technician (RBT)

  • Assist in delivering behavioral analysis services and practice under the direction of an RBT supervisor.

  • The RBT will follow all protocols for each program or designed intervention.

  • Qualifications

    • Must be 18 years of age or older

    • Have a high school diploma

    • Pass Background Check

    • Complete 40-hour training

    • Complete Initial Competency Assessment

    • Take & Pass RBT Exam

    • Receive Ongoing Supervision

    • Adhere to Ethics

    • Renew annually

For more information visit the following websites:

176 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

What is an IEP?

An Individualized Education Program (IEP) is a legally binding document created for students with disabilities in the United States that outlines the educational goals, accommodations, modifications,

RBT vs Shadow ABA

In the world is ABA Therapy there are two main types of caregivers for ABA clients. These two types are Registered Behavioral Technicians (RBT) and Shadow ABAs. There are two similar professions but t


bottom of page